Ryan's story

RyanFinal

My name is Ryan, and I’m 24 years old, originally from Lowestoft so not a million miles away from Ditchingham.

Before moving to the community just over a week ago, I was homeless, or rather sofa-surfing, around Great Yarmouth for seven months. I’ve been in and out of hostels since the age of 14 and surrounded by drugs and alcohol from a very young age, everyone I was associating with got into it. I started smoking weed aged 11; I was a ketamine addict at 14 before moving on to much harder drugs a bit later. It got to the point where I didn’t recognise myself, and I didn’t really see much of a future ahead. I was trying to stay sober but it was so difficult, as the only places I could crash were with people under the influence. I found myself drinking every day. I knew I needed to make a change so when the PPO informed me of Emmaus, I jumped at the chance to move in.

Before my interview, I remember feeling so nervous – I didn’t know what to expect, but the minute I arrived at the community I felt at ease. Now I’m living here, I’m just enjoying being busy. I like being on the vans and working at the Old Orchard Café.

I haven’t looked too far into the future, I’m just taking each day as it comes, but my main aim is to remain sober. I really don’t want to be around drugs again, I hate it and am lucky to be away from that lifestyle now. I’m glad I discovered Emmaus at this age, it’s nice here and I’m really enjoying it so far. I’m hoping it will help me stay on the right track. 

Our stories

Read more stories